`Sugar Coated Delusions`

December 29, 2007

tuesdays with morrie…

Filed under: Main — Tags: , , , , — melfabro @ 2:50 am

ten years ago, more or less =D I encountered this book through an ex and was persuaded to read it.

Was able to read it in one sitting during one of my free time, reading and re-reading it but somehow what was written didn’t make any sense to me.

Now, while I was thinking of my wish list for the exchange gift in our office I came across an short story that mentioned the book and thought why not include it in my wishlist along another one ( a 2G flash drive =D) since the first copy that was given to me was long gone and forgotten.

And so that was what I got for the exchange gift and like before I was able to read it in one sitting the next day but it was different now. The views and ideas that I read seemed familiar and after all the time that have pass somehow I understood what they meant.

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half asleep, even when they are busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.”

WOW that was one of those lines I’ve read that made me think…what have I become? How different was I 10 years ago? As well as the page that talked about the “tension of opposites; sometimes someone/something hurts you and you know that it shouldn’t, sometimes you want to stay but you also want to go.

I don’t know how many times, i’ve re-read this now and don’t know when stop. Maybe when I find my search for meaning i guess..=D

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

